Official blazon 

  Argent, a Saltire engrailed between four fleur de lis gules.


The arms have not officially been granted. The arms have been used since early in the 19th century, they seem to have been copied from arms found on the ancient Portreeve's staff or pole (missing since 1912, but there are pictures of it). The arms on the Portreeve's staff or pole are most likely the arms of the treasurer of the Bishop of Exeter -Gules, a Saltire engrailed between four Leopards' heads or. Why the leopard's heads turned into fleur-de-lis is not known.

For further explaination please click on the highlighted links in the next passage.

A portreeve or port warden is the title of an historical official in England and Wales possessing authority (political, administrative, or fiscal) over a town. The details of the office have fluctuated and evolved considerably over time. The term derives from the word port (which historically meant a market town or walled town, and not specifically a seaport); and the word reeve, meaning a high-ranking supervisory official.[1]

The origins of the position are in the reign of Edward the Elder, who, in order to ensure that taxes were correctly exacted, forbade the conducting of trades outside of a 'port' or duly appointed place for trading, and without the supervision of a portreeve or other trustworthy person. At this time therefore, they had a role as a fiscal supervisor, much like modern customs and revenue officers.

By the late Middle Ages portreeves acted as representatives of the people to ensure that their duties to the mayor and community were fulfilled. In some cases (and usually more recently) the role has been combined with that of mayor. Portreeves may also have acted as returning officers at elections.

Contemporary British towns which still nominally have or appoint a portreeve include Laugharne, Carmarthenshire; Ashburton, Devon (the only town in the country where the office is still held by act of parliament); Beccles, Suffolk; Callington, Cornwall (where the name is given to the council chairman);[2] and Yeovil, Somerset.